- Advertisement -

Chronicles of Nigerian Presidents: Past and Present List

Nigeria has witnessed a succession of leaders, every leaving their mark on the nation. Nnamdi Azikiwe turned the primary President after independence in 1960. Subsequently, the nation skilled durations of navy rule, with leaders like Yakubu Gowon, Ibrahim Babangida, and Sani Abacha on the helm.

The return to civilian rule introduced leaders like Olusegun Obasanjo, Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, and Goodluck Jonathan. Muhammadu Buhari, identified for his navy background, assumed workplace, specializing in reforms and growth.

- Advertisement -

Every president has contributed to Nigeria’s journey, dealing with distinctive challenges and shaping the nation’s future. As Nigeria continues its path, their legacies stay integral to its historical past.

  1. Nnamdi Azikiwe (1963 – 1966) – He turned Nigeria’s first President after independence from British colonial rule on October 1, 1960. Azikiwe was the ceremonial President and pivotal in Nigeria’s early post-independence historical past.
  2. Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi (1966) – After a navy coup in January 1966, Normal Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi assumed management as the pinnacle of state and in addition took on the position of President.
  3. Yakubu Gowon (1966 – 1975) – Normal Yakubu Gowon turned the Nigerian head of state and President after the counter-coup in July 1966. He led the nation through the Biafra-Nigeria Civil Battle from 1967 to 1970.
  4. Murtala Muhammed (1975 – 1976) – Normal Murtala Ramat Mohammed seized energy in a cold navy coup in July 1975. He served as the pinnacle of state and held the place of President till he was assassinated in February 1976.
  5. Olusegun Obasanjo (1976 – 1979) – After the demise of Murtala Ramat Mohammed, Normal Olusegun Obasanjo took over as the pinnacle of state and President. He finally handed over energy to a civilian authorities in 1979, marking the top of navy rule in Nigeria’s first republic.
  6. Shehu Shagari (1979 – 1983) – Shehu Shagari was Nigeria’s first govt President within the Second Republic after successful the 1979 common elections. Nonetheless, his authorities was overthrown in a navy coup in December 1983, ending the Second Republic.
  7. Muhammadu Buhari (1983 – 1985) – Main Normal Muhammadu Buhari led the navy coup that ousted President Shehu Shagari’s authorities in December 1983 and have become the pinnacle of state and de facto President.
  8. Ibrahim Babangida (1985 – 1993) – Normal Ibrahim Babangida took energy in a palace coup in August 1985 and served as the pinnacle of state and de facto President. He annulled the 1993 presidential elections received by Moshood Abiola, which led to a political disaster and finally ended his regime.
  9. Ernest Shonekan (1993) – Chief Ernest Shonekan was appointed interim President in August 1993 after Ibrahim Babangida stepped down following widespread protests and worldwide strain. His short-lived authorities resulted in November 1993 after one other navy coup led by Normal Sani Abacha.
  10. Sani Abacha (1993 – 1998) – Normal Sani Abacha seized energy within the November 1993 coup and have become the pinnacle of state and de facto President. His regime was characterised by human rights abuses and repression of political opposition.
  11. Abdulsalami Abubakar (1998 – 1999) – Normal Abdulsalami Abubakar took over as the pinnacle of state and de facto President after the sudden demise of Normal Sani Abacha in June 1998. He initiated the transition to democracy and handed energy to a civilian authorities in Could 1999.
  12. Olusegun Obasanjo (1999 – 2007) – Olusegun Obasanjo returned to energy as a civilian President in Could 1999 after successful the presidential election. He served two phrases and accomplished his tenure in Could 2007.
  13. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua (2007 – 2010) – Umaru Musa Yar’Adua was elected because the President of Nigeria in April 2007. Nonetheless, his presidency was reduce brief by his demise in Could 2010.
  14. Goodluck Jonathan (2010 – 2015) – Goodluck Jonathan assumed the presidency after the demise of President Yar’Adua. He was later elected as President within the 2011 common elections. Jonathan served as President till Could 2015.
  15. Muhammadu Buhari (2015 – 2023) – Muhammadu Buhari received the presidential election in March 2015 and assumed workplace in Could 2015. He was re-elected for a second time period within the 2019 common elections and continues to function Nigeria’s President as of my final replace in September 2021.
  16. Bola Ahmed Tinubu (2023 – current): Bola Tinubu received the controversial Nigerian presidential election on February 2023 underneath the All Progressive Congress political get together. He received towards the likes of Atiku Abubakar of the Individuals’s Democratic Get together, Peter Obi of the Labour Get together, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Individuals’s Get together, the main candidates within the common election. Bola Tinubu assumed workplace on Could 2023 because the President of Nigeria.

- Advertisement -

Publish Your Bio, Music, Quest Publish & Extra On TheCityCeleb

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -